The LA Report Blog Web

Add to Technorati Favorites

Return to homepage:
The LA Report Blog


June 17, 2009


by Don Rose

Capitol/EMI released "Let It Roll: Songs By George Harrison" on CD and digitally on June 16, 2009. The new album is Harrison’s first ever career-spanning solo hits collection and also includes live tracks from his 1971 all-star Concert For Bangladesh benefit at Madison Square Garden.

As music legend, George was recently celebrated with a new star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame, and in tandem with this special event (which brought out Paul McCartney and Tom Hanks, among many others) Capitol/EMI has now given fans of the "Quiet Beatle" a fantastic new collection of Harrisongs.

"Let It Roll" features digitally remastered tracks in deluxe packaging, including an extensive booklet with previously unseen and rare photos. The collection is also available for download from all major digital service providers, including Amazon.com and iTunes. In fact, fans who buy the new album on iTunes will get a rare bonus track -- a demo of "Isn't It A Pity" (one of Harrison's songs from his landmark "All Things Must Pass" album).

"Let It Roll" spans 3 decades of stellar music, putting many highlights from Harrison's entire solo recording career on one album for the first time. The Harrisongs here include the #1 Billboard Pop singles “My Sweet Lord,” “Isn’t It A Pity,” “Give Me Love (Give Me Peace On Earth),” and “Got My Mind Set On You." The new title will also feature live recordings of three Harrison-penned Beatles songs, “Something,” “While My Guitar Gently Weeps,” and “Here Comes The Sun” from his 1971 all-star Concert For Bangladesh benefit at Madison Square Garden.

Boffo Offer: iTunes Bonus Harrisong

iTunes is exclusively offering a previously unreleased bonus track, "Isn't It A Pity" (Earliest Demo Version), with a digital album purchase of "Let It Roll: Songs By George Harrison."

Amazon Link to "Let It Roll"


Send a Harrison-Themed Father's Day E-Card!

The "Let It Roll" e-card is at http://georgeharrison2009.com/ecard.

About George Harrison

George Harrison is a twice-inducted member of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, as a solo artist and as a member of The Beatles, and an 11-time Grammy Award winner for his recordings with The Beatles, Traveling Wilburys and as a solo artist. Known by millions for his music, Harrison also dedicated his life to humanitarian causes; his rock-benefit Concert For Bangladesh served as an inspiration for future fundraising events like Live Aid, Farm Aid, Live 8 and many more.

Complete Track List for "Let It Roll"

Let It Roll: Songs by George Harrison (CD, digital)
1. Got My Mind Set On You
2. Give Me Love (Give Me Peace On Earth)
3. The Ballad Of Sir Frankie Crisp (Let It Roll)
4. My Sweet Lord
5. While My Guitar Gently Weeps [Live] - Concert For Bangladesh
6. All Things Must Pass
7. Any Road
8. This Is Love
9. All Those Years Ago
10. Marwa Blues
11. What Is Life
12. Rising Sun
13. When We Was Fab
14. Something [Live] - Concert For Bangladesh
15. Blow Away
16. Cheer Down
17. Here Comes The Sun [Live] - Concert For Bangladesh
18. I Don’t Want To Do It
19. Isn’t It A Pity
iTunes Bonus Track: Isn’t It A Pity (Earliest Demo Version)