The LA Report Blog Web

Add to Technorati Favorites

Return to homepage:
The LA Report Blog


February 7, 2012

Paul McCartney's "Kisses On The Bottom" Released Today; New Album of Standards (Plus 2 New Originals) Features Appearances by Eric Clapton, Stevie Wonder & Diana Krall

Posted by Don Rose

Paul’s tribute to personal favorites and two new self-penned compositions out TODAY February 7

On December 19

2011, Paul announced that February 2012 would see the release of his brand new studio album. Scores of fans then streamed the new original track ‘My Valentine,’ many assuming it would be the new record’s title track.  While a few Twitter hints have been dropped and rumors have run rampant, Paul puts an end to speculation today, confirming that the album will indeed be titled ‘Kisses On The Bottom’.


Paul has apparently had some fun with his choice of album title—while causing some confusion amongst those who have historically subjected his every move to microscopic scrutiny (with many fixating on an anatomical interpretation!). The phrase ‘Kisses On The Bottom,’ however, actually comes from the album’s opener ‘I’m Gonna Sit Right Down And Write Myself A Letter’. Originally made a big hit by Fats Waller in 1935, the song opens with the lines ‘I’m gonna sit right down and write myself a letter and make believe it came from you.  I’m gonna write words oh so sweet.  They’re gonna knock me off of my feet.  A lot of kisses on the bottom, I’ll be glad I got ‘em’.


‘Kisses On The Bottom’ is a collection of standards Paul grew up listening to in his childhood as well as the two new McCartney compositions ‘My Valentine’ and ‘Only Our Hearts’.  With the help of Grammy Award-winning producer Tommy LiPuma and Diana Krall and her band—as well as guest appearances from Eric Clapton and Stevie Wonder, McCartney’s new album is a deeply personal journey through classic American compositions that, in some cases, a young Paul first heard his father perform on piano at home.  The full tracklisting reveals that Paul has been both reverent and adventurous in his song choices.


Kisses On The Bottom – Full Tracklisting

Standard CD – 14 tracks

01. I’m Gonna Sit Right Down And Write Myself A Letter            

02. Home (When Shadows Fall)                                                

03.  It’s Only A Paper Moon                                                      

04. More I Cannot Wish You                                                      

05. The Glory Of Love                                                               

06. We Three (My Echo, My Shadow And Me)                      

07. Ac-Cent-Tchu-Ate The Positive                                        

08. My Valentine                                                             

09. Always                                                                       

10. My Very Good Friend The Milkman                       

11. Bye Bye Blackbird                                                   

12. Get Yourself Another Fool                                       

13. The Inch Worm                                                         

14. Only Our Hearts                                                         


Deluxe CD Album will feature two bonus tracks plus access to a download of the Capitol Studios show (available from Tuesday 14th February via paulmccartney.com), plus longer liner notes and expanded packaging featuring three postcards)

15.  Baby’s Request                                                          

16.  My One And Only Love                                      

The album will also be available digitally.



The album was recorded at the legendary Capitol Studios in Los Angeles, New York and London throughout 2011.  It also features guest musicians Eric Clapton and Stevie Wonder, respectively, on the original compositions ‘My Valentine’ and ‘Only Our Hearts’.  Eric also appears on the track ‘Get Yourself Another Fool’.

The album artwork concept was conceived by Jonathan Schofield (Visual Director at Stella McCartney) and designed by Matthew Cooper (who has worked with artists such as Arctic Monkeys and Franz Ferdinand).  Paul was photographed by his daughter Mary McCartney for the album sleeve.